Chile Galaxy

The post for today can be found at http://photos.tandlphotos.com/blog/2015/6/on-the-ball. Back in 2011, we cooked up our own chile to spray on the roses to discourage porcupine from eating our roses. We have since found an insanely hot chile sauce that we mix up with water and spray on the roses. The chile sauce is so insanely hot that I simply dipped the spoon that we used to measure the chile into a bowl of soup. There was only a slight residue of the chile on the spoon, and it spiced up my soup enough to make me sweat.

Originally posted June 12, 2011: vFrom a chile galaxy loaded with fresh garlic, then strained through a cheesecloth, we created a chile spray to discourage the porcupine from breaking canes, and eating the leaves and buds off the new growth on the rose bushes. We sprayed the mixture on all of our rose bushes thinking it will give them a hot, nasty taste that porcupines won’t like. If it turns out that Corraleño porcupines like spicy roses, then we are in trouble.

The rose floating in the purple cup is Singin’ in the Rain. While cutting the dead canes out of the rose bushes, Laurie got this really nice bloom and floated it in a cup. Puck was out sneakin’ around in a patch of long grass early this morning, when I got this distant shot of him eyeing something. Pink Iceberg is really putting on the blooms now, and I found a lady bug larva working on What a Peach.

Singin’ In The Rain
Puck In The Grass
Pink Iceberg
Lady Bug Larvae
24 thoughts on “Chile Galaxy

  1. As always beautiful photograph and how interesting about the chile spray. I would have thought it might damage the roses…but clearly not. I will have to pass this onto my rose grower friends in the UK. Have a wonderful weekend. Janet.

    • Besides thrips and aphids, we don’t really have anything out here that does great damage to the roses except the porcupine that likes to eat the new, tender growth at the end of the canes.

      • I shall have to try the chilli approach on our greenfly! I love roses and have lots of them – more or less under control , in the garden here 🙂

  2. I believe I know nothing about this chile sauce. At first, I thought it was coffee, the way it was made some years ago (and tasts really good) lol
    Also I had no ideia that’s the look of a ladybug larve… Interesting!

    • They are old posts before you started following. You know I moved my blog, so all my new photos are on a different platform.

Leave a Reply

