Tales From My Youth — Do Not Throw!

This video by Maira Sadowaska goes well with this post: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vKTgITkCk5I

 

Before you click “Like”, I would suggest going to http://photos.tandlphotos.com/blog/2015/7/tales-from-my-youth-do-not-throw and reading the post, as you might find it rather disturbing and not “like” it at all. It is the first of what will be a series of posts on tales from my youth.  “Tales From My Youth — Do Not Throw!”, while not necessarily the most disturbing tale from my youth, was one of the easier tales to create photographs to illustrate it.

31 thoughts on “Tales From My Youth — Do Not Throw!

    • Thanks, Julia! Definitely not my butterflies, flowers and kitties kind of post. Isn’t it interesting how reality is always weirder than fiction? Dostoyevsky said that all his fiction was inspired by real people and real events.

  1. It’s a great post, Tim. I think it’s always interesting to learn what kind of jobs people had in their early days. You certainly brought it to life… Well, okay so that’s not the best choice of words. 😉 Hugs!

  2. Tim, read the post, and commented. Your write-up was fantastic, if messy! Would love to read more odd jobs stories. One of my teen years jobs was in a shoe store where I “measured” ladies legs for the proper length nylon stockings! That didn’t last long, and I went on to “dust” shelves chucked full of goods in a jewelry shop! Christine

    • Thanks, Christine! I’ll be posting more. Unfortunately, teenagers don’t get the opportunities to do weird, odd jobs like we did. I was paid $2.50 an hour to clean up blood and guts, and I started my first serious job working for a cabinetmaker at $1.50 an hour when I was 15. I used all kinds of power saws and other “dangerous” power tools that I don’t think they allow teenagers to use on a job today. But all those woodworking and construction skills I learned in my teens I still use to this very day. It’s sad how unskilled so many young people, and even people just 10 years younger than me, are today.

      • So true, Tim! When I got paid as a graduate nurse (doing everything a registered nurse would do) I got paid $50.00 every two weeks! $5.00 a day! Don’t remember the starting salary as a registered nurse back then. But I do remember I was allowed to do “doctor’s” work in the ER and OR…suturing, closing up surgeries, pounding pins in hip replacements! Learned skills NOT allowed nurses today! Liability? Crazy, isn’t it!

      • I’m so glad I turned my email alerts back on because I didn’t know when you posted! I’m thankful I did! You have a wide variety of interests and photos! All wonderful! 😀

      • Hi Michelle. I will post on POTDE when I post tales from my youth since they are stories that I have to make photos to go with, instead of just daily photos (does that make since?). Otherwise, I post photos every day at http://photos.tandlphotos.com/blog. I felt it necessary to warn people to actually go to the blog before clicking on “like” for “…Do Not Throw”, because it looks pretty silly if you just blindly like a bloody post like this without looking at it first.

    • Compared to some of the things I did in my youth that almost killed me, or things that happened to close friends, cleaning up after autopsies was not traumatic. I never lost sleep because of it, like I did over many things that happened when I was young, but it was one of those things that was so strange, I’ll never forget it. It was a job.

  3. I wouldn’t have liked that job but I worked in several hospitals and in home health care that bloody messes were just part of my job. I became indifferent about it. Sometimes I still see the faces of the people I took care of in long term patient care. The head nurse always put me on death watch. I’d take their vital signs every 15 minutes, then every 10 minutes, and then every 5 minutes. It was difficult because family members would be in the room looking at me as if to say, “Please let them be okay. When they realized there was nothing else I could do to help them the tears would flow.
    One older man had visitors in his room and he told them he was going to fly home. One of the visitors said, “You only live 4 blocks away.” The patient looked at me with a sweet smile and a sigh and said, “I will Fly.” I took it as meaning he was talking about going to heaven. He was going to fly to his home in the sky. I wrote a poem about it. It’s in my book.

  4. Sounds like an “interesting” occupation. lol I’ve skinned and gutted many animals without blinking and eye, but I don’t know how well I’d get along cleaning up human blood and guts. The leg in the drawer was funny–in a morbid kind of way 😀

Leave a Reply

