Baby Flyer

010O9326

http://photos.tandlphotos.com/blog/2017/6/baby-flyer

16 thoughts on “Baby Flyer

    • Thanks, Mia! He had a lot of looks to express his thoughts about the pesky paparazzo. Making the decision about getting the sunset to the west, or the pink mountains and clouds to the east, or your tree to the south becomes a real problem on stormy evenings. All are good, but to see one I’m blocked from the others by trees and levees.

      • You’re welcome. Maybe that why they’re considered wise. I thought that might be my tree, I wasn’t sure if it’s unique or there are others like it near by. Great photos for a stormy evening, I’m really jealous of those magnificent skies.

      • I had to let your tree go dark while I messed with the owl. The owl was about a half mile north of your tree. I got the sunset on the way to the where I stand by the river and photograph the mountains, but by the time I got there, passing your tree on the way, it was very dark, and all the reds and pinks were gone from the eastern and southern skies. See if the link to google maps works. Satellite images should be turned on in the link so you can see the ditches, bosque and river where I’m doing the photos: https://www.google.com/maps/@35.2260706,-106.5981604,1066m/data=!3m1!1e3

      • Thank you Tim, from the satellite view I can get a general idea, the images are a bit fuzzy. I can see where the river is and some of the trees. Amazing that is was getting dark or dark already and you were able to captured such wonderful images of the owl. Same idea as when you photographed the beaver?

      • Same thing with the beaver. Owls and beavers like to be out in the dark, so they will become active at dusk, which allows me to capture them at high ISO, but seeing them clearly and focussing gets to be a challenge. Even at 3200, my shutter speed is often 1/40th to 1/25th of a second or longer. As long as the critters hold still, I can get a fairly clear images because of the stabilization in the lens, but if the critters move, they are blurry at those speeds. In the case of the owl flying, I think the shutter speed was around 1/80th of a second, so even though the owl was moving, I got a little bit of detail. Low light, high ISO photography is challenging, but you can get some interesting results.

      • Tim, I am always in awe of your images and your talent with the camera, a perfect example, “critters” at dusk/dark. The owl in flight blows me away, that you were quick enough to capture him and get the details that you did, and when they sit still for you the shots are fantastic even at dark. The first one with the owl in the brambles looking right at you, impressive, as for time of day, to me it looks like late morning.

      • Thanks Mia. I appreciate that. I often have to stand in the same place for a long time to get some of the critter photos, and I miss a lot of photos because I’m not quick enough.

        One of the advantages of full-frame sensors in digital photography and raw images is that there is a lot of leeway for getting detail out of dark images and making low light situations look much lighter than they are in reality. I often cannot see much detail with my eyes in the low light of dusk, or shadows outside of streetlights, etc. at night, and I am often very surprised what I can pull out of a dark images. It lets us see things we have a hard time seeing otherwise.

      • BTW Interesting that the satellite images are fuzzy for you. Either google is using a different set of images based on your IP location, or the images never completely loaded for you. The page I took the URL off of was very clear. I could zoom in and see your tree, but I might get clear images because my IP is in the same geographic area as the maps, or because I’m logged into my google account. You can never tell what google is up to.

      • That is interesting. I even tried just entering what I though were the longitude and latitude coordinates, same image, far, far away from the ground and blurry. I’ll try it again logging into Google and see if it’s any clearer. The trees I saw looked like they were cut out of construction paper, just blobs.

      • I sent you some aerials off of google earth to the Copper Cranes gmail.

Leave a Reply

